Home » MEDICAL » Scarlet Fever

Upcoming Dates

Tuesday 25th & Wednesday 26th January – Junior Infants Parent Teacher Meetings via Zoom

Saturday 5th February – Do this in Memory Mass – 7.30pm Eadestown Church (Communion Pupils)

Monday 7th February – closing date for applications for Admission to Junior Infants September 2022

Saturday 12th February – ‘You shall be my Witness’ Mass – 7.30pm Eadestown Church (Confirmation Pupils)

Thursday 17th February – Ceremony of Light – 7.30pm Eadestown Church

Wednesday 23rd February – 12.30pm closure due to Whole School Staff Professional Development.

Thursday 24th & Friday 25th February – School closed Mid Term Break

Saturday 5th March – ‘Do this in Memory Mass’ – 7.30pm Eadestown Church (First holy Communion)

Saturday 12th March – You Shall Be My Witness’ Mass – 7.30pm Eadestown Church

Thursday 17th & Friday 18th March – No School

Friday 25th March – Sacrament of Confirmation – 11.30am Eadestown Church

Monday 11th to Friday 22nd April – Easter Holidays

Monday 2nd May – No School

Saturday 14th May – Sacrament of First Holy Communion

Friday 3rd to Wednesday 8th June – School Closed for mid-term. School reopens on Thursday 9th June

Friday 24th June – 12.30pm close for Summer Holidays

Scarlet Fever

What is scarlet fever ?

Scarlet fever is a scattered red rash and high temperature caused by bacteria (Group A streptococci). Occasionally these bacteria can cause kidney or heart complications. Prompt treatment with an antibiotic usually prevents these complications. Treatment will also prevent spread to others.

What are the symptoms of scarlet fever ?

A scattered red rash that is often most marked in the creases of the joints and over the stomach. It usually blanches (goes white) when pressed on. The skin may feel rough to the touch, sometimes described as feeling like sandpaper. Someone with scarlet fever will have evidence of a streptococcal infection somewhere, usually in the throat or sometimes in the skin.

What should I do if I think my child has it ?
If your child develops any of these symptoms bring him/her to your GP for examination. Tell the doctor that another child in the school has scarlet fever.

If my child has scarlet fever what should I do ?

The doctor will prescribe an antibiotic for your child. If is important that your child takes the full course of medicine.

Can my child stay in school ?
Your child can return to school when he/she is well and has finished one full day of antibiotic treatment.

What can I do to prevent spread of infection at home ?

The bacteria are spread through contact with nose and mouth secretions so:

  • Wash hands thoroughly after wiping nose
  • Wash hands thoroughly before preparing food
  • Wash dishes well in hot soapy water
  • Do not share cups, straws, spoons, eating utensils etc
  • Do not share toothbrushes

 

Your GP will be able to answer any further questions that you might have concerning this matter.

 

News Feed

Enrolment 2022/2023

The Enrolment process for the following school year 2022/2023 is open from January 6th 2022. Forms of Enquiry are available from the school office or can be Downloaded here

If you require any further information regarding the above please contact Lucy Travers (Principal) or Martina on 045 862145

Latest Weather